The Idaho Agenda Turns 6 Months Old!

To be honest, when I first started the Idaho Agenda, never in my craziest expectations would I have expected it to reach the heights that it has in just six short months.

Adding up the averages, since the blog started, we reach about 5000 people a month; most of our readers coming from our national followers on Twitter, l, our friends and acquaintances on Facebook, and the five or so of you following on Google+.

But more than numbers, that I hope it is fulfilling its mission which is to stir you into action, for that is really the Idaho Agenda’s intent.

It is and was for me.

Last summer, after seeing Alan”Equality” Bounville’s one man play,“When People Lead,” at an impromptu backyard theater, I asked myself “what holes do we have in Idaho in the road to equality and what gifts, talents, or resources can I bring to the table to help fill one or more of them?”

The one thing I kept coming back to, given my current professional and personal commitments, was my ability to write, market, and share information.

My vision for the Idaho Agenda was and is to share news and events that affects the lives of Idaho’s LGBTQIA community, to provide space for those involved in the equality movement to let their voices be heard and ultimately to capture the movement of a people as we march our way to equality.

There have been a lot of sleepless nights, more grammatical errors made then I care to think about and one or two Ron Paul supporters who I’ve alienated by not carrying their “Vote Ron Paul for Equality” column, but hopefully the Idaho Agenda is serving its purpose.

Moving forward, I’m hoping that more of you will contribute your stories, your news and your projects. It doesn’t take much, just 100-1000 or so words, an email to idahoagenda@gmail.com and its up.

There are also a couple of partnerships with some exciting projects in the works, so watch for them as well.

Finally, let me simply say thank you for allowing me to clutter up your Facebook page, your twitter account and your head with stories that I think you might find useful, or at the very least, pertinent to our lives.

Send your email to idahoagenda@gmail.com. “Like” us on Facebook, follow us on Twitter at @Idahoagenda, and find us on google+

P.S. Don’t hesitate to shoot an email if you find something that’s incorrect or grammatically wrong. Sometimes “then and than” look all too similar at 2:00 in the morning.

3 Responses to The Idaho Agenda Turns 6 Months Old!

  1. You are like the Gandhi for Gays, quiet peaceful activist, organizing events, pointing out injustice, using a network to advertise and get word out, and more energy to get involved in things than the rest of us combined. I didn’t realize Idaho Agenda was so young, the pages seem done by someone who has done this kind of reporting for years. Grammar — well, I will pm some corrections.

  2. Linda Chadburn says:

    You are doing a great job with the Idaho Agenda, James! Keep up the great work!

  3. Congratulations on your 6 month anniversary. Seems like you have been giving us the important news for much longer. Wishing you many more anniversaries. Amazing, what Alan Equality Bounville sparked! And he’s still going on, Into the Light.

Leave a Reply

